When you love singing, one of the best ways for you to get some exposure is YouTube

Please read this post on how I got allot of views on my YouTube video and why I deleted it up to the end, it might help you allot!

My video I uploaded:

My own personal video I uploaded was “soos die branders” which is a song in Afrikaans that I wrote myself. The music was done by someone else, because I cannot play any musical instruments. I wrote the song and with the recording the song was recorded first, then he created a ghost track on which I had to go practice and afterwards we recorded the complete song with the music. The person who did the music also did the mastering of the song (and I paid allot of money for it). You can read more about how I edited the video on http://all-about-life-tips.com/building-best-videos/ – there I explain which program I used to make the video, which was according to me, very good for a non-professional. I was very proud of my song, because it was the first song I wrote myself and I was proud of my video, because it took me a long time to do it and I did not have one part where my mouth did not move according to the song, even though I did the sound and video separately. Naturally, after doing all this work, I uploaded my song on YouTube for the world to see and share in my joy because of this first work I created. I was very excited.

How I got allot of views on my YouTube video

Every day I went to check the stats of my video and it burned like wild fire, within a week there was over 500 views on the video. How did I do it? Below my video in the comments, I wrote “If you like this, please like and share with your friends”. After my video was completely uploaded to YouTube, I went to the share button and shared this video which I was so proud of to facebook, twitter, google+, blogger, LinkedIn and Pinterest.

YouTube how to share video

share your video on social media

After I closed YouTube, I signed into my Facebook account and because I shared the video, it was on my wall. Here I re-shared it on my best friends’ timelines. There I also wrote, if you like my video, please share. (Some of my friends have over 1000 friends, so you can imagine how many people saw it on Facebook.) So you can see, I was very proud of this video and wanted to share it with everybody and that I did.

Why I deleted my YouTube video (and all the others I had on)

After about 3 weeks (sorry, I can’t remember the exact time span) I already had allot of views and I was excited, but then a negative comment came in. This was the only comment on the video at that stage. At first there was only one and I reported it as “abusive”. This comment was in Afrikaans, but translated it said: “I registered to YouTube just to tell you that this is the s*&@#$#@ (with the real swear word in) song I ever heard” As you can imagine, I felt very sad and did not quite know what to make of it, because according to me, the video was doing well. I could not help thinking that it was someone who was jealous of me, because as you  might have guessed – this comment did not have a picture. In my innocence I left a comment on my Facebook page with a link to the video asking those who liked it to please give me a thumbs up, because I got this negative comment and don’t know what to make of it. Naturally, some of my friends sent me private messages of support and some of my friends who are registered to YouTube gave me a thumbs up. At a later stage, I got another negative comment and then I re-shared my video on Google+ with the question “is my video really as bad as the person said?” This person, also faceless and nameless said “honestly, you cannot sing and you must rather take up painting.”  (I shared this because I was still proud of this video and could not think why someone could be so ugly) Boy oh boy, I should not have done that. I can take supportive comments like I should do something different with the video or the sound is not that good, but some people got really – really ugly. The most ugly ones, I also reported as “abuse” and then YouTube added a feature to approve or delete comments, but I could still see these comments. Some of them really broke my heart and I could not take it any more – I was a victim of online bullying. They started leaving negative comments on my other videos as well. Someone sent me a private message telling me that the negative comments was because someone with a very bad destructive website that likes to make a fool of allot of people put my video on his website.  (I’d rather not share the link to that website with you, but what I can tell you is that he lives in South Africa) One guy even wrote a “poem” for me it was very long and I can’t remember half of it, but what I can remember is that in his poem he mentioned that I make him want to vomit and I should definitely stop singing. Some people even attacked my family saying that they must be deaf and I must get another person to do my video, my husband does not know what he is doing. The more comments I read, the more I cried, because singing is my life and the only talent God has given me – I can’t paint. Some guy even left a comment that I should take a look at his video and when I listened to his song I heard more than once where he was off key, but I did not tell him that, I knew exactly how bad it felt when people left these comments, so I would not do it to anyone else. You won’t believe the thoughts that went through my mind, I even thought that if I can’t sing, I would rather die (kill myself), because singing is my life.

How I feel these days

Personally I am still hurt when I think of all the things the people said, but I think I reacted a bit quick to delete my videos, but at that stage I was so hurt that for me it was the only solution. For days I did not want to go to town, because I felt what if someone recognized me and I could not look people in the eyes. I did not even tell my family until about 2 weeks later. I even thought that I must stop singing, but then I realized that I would not be in the top 20 in a singing school of over 50 students if I could not sing. I realize now that the people who are so ugly has a problem with themselves and they want to hurt others for them to feel better.

What I learned and want you to learn

If you are brave enough to put videos on YouTube, you must be able to handle negative comments as well – you must please just not think that it is you – some people are just very sad and hurt on the inside and they want to hurt others. If you want to put a video on YouTube, apparently times have changed – YouTube is not for personal home type videos any more, it is for high quality professional type videos. Please let me know if I’m wrong by leaving a comment below. Afterwards I saw that even some of the best most awesome musicians get negative comments, I think that is how these people operate.

If you have a YouTube video you want to delete:

If you have a YouTube video that you want to delete, it is easy to do: You right click with your mouse on the video you wish to delete and choose the option to delete, but if you want to do it, remember: YOU MUST BE CERTAIN THAT YOU WANT TO DELETE YOUR YOUTUBE VIDEO, BECAUSE IF YOU DECIDE LATER ON THAT YOU WANT TO PUT IT BACK ON, YOUR STATS START AT ZERO AGAIN.

 I wish you the best of luck in building your singing career and pray from the bottom of my heart that you will be strong and make a huge success of your singing career.

PS: Sorry to those people, I will never stop singing and personally I think they never even tried!!!

Leave a Reply

